The arguement blames insufficient and ineffective marketing to be the culprit for the decline in the number of movie goers observed during the past year and makes a reccomendation to allocate more budget to marketing efforts as a consequence.

The arguement blames insufficient and ineffective marketing to be the culprit for the decline in the number of movie goers observed during the past year and makes a reccomendation to allocate more budget to marketing efforts as a consequence. This arguement is flawed in various ways, among which three stand out the most as detailed below.

First, the arguement fails to quantify any of the assertions made, which makes it difficult for the readers to gauge the severity of the problem. When we say fewer people attended last year, does that mean 10 fewer people or 200 fewer people? What was the number of viewers the previous year to begin with? The same criticism holds for the percentage of positive reviews and the share of budget to be allocated next year. Without quantification, it is not clear whether the drop in the number of movie goers necessitates an action whatsoever. The arguement would have been stronger had it provided data revealing the magnitude of such assertions to help in measuring the impact.

Second, the arguement implicitly assumes that insufficient advertising is the only reason explaining the downtrend in the number of movie goers during the past year. While these may be very well correlated, without validation, one cannot assume this to be true. There may be many other factors contributing to the decline in the number of movie goers. For example, a new competitor may have entered the movie production market during the past year outperforming Super Screen Movie Production Company. New trends and genres may have been introduced during the past year driving people toward watching different movies than they used to. Some of the regular viewers may have lost their jobs during the past year and consequently in paring down their entertainment budget decided not to go to the movies any longer. As seen, one can think of many other alternatives to explain the decline in the number of movie viewers. Therefore, the arguement cannot assume this to be a fact without validating the assumption. In this regard, the arguement would have been strengthened had it produced various surveys and studies understanding the effect of each of these variables seperately.

Last but not least, the arguement does not provide any granular information about the origin and content of the movie reviews. How can one verify if these reviews are genuine? Today, it is widely known that many companies, driven by a ceratin agenda, employ movie reviewers, whether professionals or dilletantes, to provide negative or positive feedback on a certain movie. Has Super Screen Movie Production Company verified the authenticity of these reviews? Furthermore, the arguement assumes that the content of these reviews does not prevail any negativity about the quality of their movies. Without understanding the content of the hortatory reviews, it is difficult to judge what the viewers find compelling in the movies; it could be the cast, the plot, the duration of the movie, the theatre experience, or any other possible reason. The arguement would have been strengthened had it provided more granular data about the origin and the content of these movie reviews.

To sum up, the arguement is found to be fallacious due to a number of unfounded assumptions made by the advertising director. As such, the arguement fails to provide convincing evidence in making its final reccomendation to allcoate more budget for advertising and marketing efforts next year.