ARGUMENT: Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation

The argument conclusion that the school should set 40hrs of community service in their curriculum in order to provide assistance to community services and to teach students the imprtance of giving back to the community is flawed.

First, the author states that organizations are geting less teenage volunteers is ambiguous. The passage provide no statistics of total number of teenagers in that region, so that it can be deduced that indeed the number of young volunteers has got down. For inststance , if the ratio of young and adults in that is changing and that currently that the number of middle in teenager age is less than in previous years, that will definetely weak the conclusion because even if strict rules will be set for kids to contribute to community service the number will still be the same.

Second, emphasizing on community works as the only means for students to appreciate the idea of giving back to the community is flawed. Students may have different views: cleaning street, visit hospitals and encourage the sick,find ways to motivate society to raise some funds to help beggars. Therefore, pushing them too much will get create a negative attitude for those who doesnot want to charitable organizations, consider them as perfuctory duty and will not perform very w