Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News: "The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they w

The author mentions that since the wildlife sanctuary for the tufted groundhog covers the covers the coastal wetlands of west lansburg and that the west council should not allow the road to be built. The author does not mention the actual scenario of the situation. It does not mention the current population of the tufted groundhog as that would have played a significant role in determining the final decision.

The author also does not mention how building the road might affect the population of the groundhog living in the coastal wetlands. It might be the case that the council is overcautious and does not want to take any risks that would affect the population of the groundhog. It is mentioned that the road is to be built along the edge of the wetlands and perhaps that would not cause trouble for the groundhogs. The author also mentions that the neighboring eastern carpenteria had a similar sanctuary for sea otter and its population has been declining since the repeal of its sanctuary status. It is not mentioned that the current sanctuary is being taken off its status as a sanctuary so comparing the two scenarios is totally irrelevant. These reasoning's are are totally baseless and and a strong statistical evidence is required on the part of the west lansburg council to justify their reason for not granting permission to build road along the wetlands.

Thus the author must come up with more strong evidence and statistics for justifying his argument in this case.