Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The following prompt is a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News. The prompt suggests that the local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. The opposition to such a development suggests that constructing a road here would endanger the groundhog population, since the road will pass close to the wildlife sanctuary where these animals reside. The example of Eastern Carpenteria has been provided to provide evidence of the decline of sea otters to a similar construction. Hence, the concerned individuals think that the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built. The following argument as well as its evidences look legible in the first reading, but a close look suggests a few discrepancies that could weaken the argument as a whole.

Firstly, the comparison is being made between two completely different animals. Groundhogs are animals that are land animals. Sea otters on the other hand are animals that live in the water. The reason for the decline in sea otter population has been attributed to the removal of sanctuary status of the place where they lived in. There are alternate theories to this as well. There could be a possibility of an increase in predators that prey upon these sea otters, or they might be facing some diseases which might explain the decline in sea otter population. The decline of sea otters and the removal of the sanctuary status of the place where they were present can be entirely co-incidental.

Secondly, the time period over which this comparison is being made has a huge gap. The groundhogs of 2004 are being compared to the sea otters of 1978. These were two completely different times. Earlier, there was not much regard for the protection of animals. They were hunted and killed for sports and what not. But present day rules prohibits all such activities. There could be a possibility that the sea otters were hunted for fun and hence their population declined so drastically in 1978. On the contrary, the rules and regulations that have been put in place against such malpractices can help in preserving the groundhog population.

Additionally, the two places being compared are completely different. There is no evidence about the type of individuals that reside here. It is highly probable that the residents of West Lansburg are more aware about the groundhog population and therefore will take extra care when they are driving past the sanctuary. Majority of them might be animal lovers which would mean that they will take care when they drive by the sanctuary. In contrast, the residents of Eastern Carpenteria might not have been so careful with the sea otters which would have led to the decline of the sea otter population.

In sum, there are many alternate possibilities which when looked upon, casts a doubt on the reliability of the evidences that have been provided. Therefore, it cannot be categorically stated that building a road would lead to the decline in groundhog population.