Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The argument claims that Super Screen movies are not getting enough viewers due to lack of awareness of the quality of the movie; by increasing

the budget for advertising, the number of viewers will increase. However, this argument has many flaws which need to evalutated before the conclusion is to be considered.

According to the argument, fewer people attended Super Screen movies than the past year. Clearly, the metric used here is the total number of people for all the movies. Evaluting without more information, this metric could be deceptive. For example, if Super Screen released 7 movies two years ago and 3 movies the past year, the number of people would obviously decrease. A better metric would be the average number of people attending per movie.

The advertising director claims that the percentage of positive reviews for Super Screen movies by movie reviewers has increased in the past year. However, the director has not mentioned by how much. For all we know, the percentage could have gone up from 1% to 2%. Futhermore, the advertising director has grouped a bunch of movies together to calculate the increase in positive reviews; it could be that one movie had great reviews while the other movies received pathetic reviews. Therefore, the percentage increase in reviews and also the reviews of the individual movies has to be found.

Finally, even if the movie was reviewed positively by a large number of movie reviewers, it could be a movie that did not interest the public. For example, a movie about a documentary might draw less attention than an action-filled movie. Advertising these movies to the public will have little effect.

The argument has several flaws which need to be addressed in order to evaluate the argument. Therefore, by addressing these flaws we will have greater insights to concur with the recommendation.