Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument has been presented by the advertising director of Movie Production Company in which he offered a plan to raise the budget allocation of next year for the advertising department. His recommendation is based on the fact though less number of viewers is attending Super-Screen Movies, yet the reviews are showing an upward trend. On the surface level, the recommendation seems sturdy but a deeper scrutiny presents various flaws and loopholes that make the conclusions flimsy and vague.

First of all, the director had made a wrong cause and effect relationship by assuming that few...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.