Arugument type - The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company. "Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marke

The writer of memorandum concludes that total demand for electricity in their area not only will not increase, but also is going to experience a decline in future. To support this conclusion the writer claims that all home owners are eager to conserve energy; furthermore, the new home appliances being used nowadays are more energy efficient than they were a decade ago. This argument rests on series of unsubstantiated assumption, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

The first problem with the assumption is that the writer investigation about the people really eager for conserving energy does not show a meaningful distinction between them and the people who were consuming energy more wastefully. It is not mentioned how many people have been considered for reaching to that conclusion. As you know, in research studies the greater the number of people in the sample, the more reliable and valid the findings are. Maybe, the writer just got the idea by examining the people around himself so it was not comprehensively investigated, and there is not a firm conclusion based upon this eagerness to use energy more thoughtfully among wide spectrum of under examined people.

The second, the writer is not certain about energy consumption rate of the people living near their area as it may be possible that those three electric generating plants were sufficient till now but in cannot be the same for years ahead. With taking this fact in mind, we all know that by increasing population more and more nowadays, we should not think so optimistic and

The third point is that even all those assumption made by the writer are plausible, there is still a fact questioning the validity of assumption as the more a society is developed, the more increase in demands for doing works with electric appliances instead of physical working will be. For example, in past, the housekeepers used to do much of their duties with their hands which now they substitute the application with more easy and labor-free appliances and it again will loosen the assumption conclusiveness.

To abridge my words, in order to accept the assumption, the writer should provide the reader with much more clear evidences in how he reached to that conclusion. eagerness to conserving energy and how did he estimated the available plants are really sufficient for all the people living and those who are going to live there in the near future, without implementing the validity of all the evidences he would provide, we cannot count on these assumptions validity.