In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The speaker claimed that Prunty County’s lowering speed limit is not an effective move to curb highway accidents, while Butler County’s various attempts at transforming the highway works well, thus Prunty County should follow its guidance. However, the speaker’s deduction lacks several crucial evidence in order to convince.

First of all, the speaker deems the new speed limit a bootless law, since the number of accidents has not decreased and drivers constantly exceed the limit. It seems to me that the situation was exactly the same as before the new limit was imposed. Thus, I doubt if it is the implementation of the new law that has gone wrong, instead of the law itself. For instance, the speaker should provide evidence on how hard the law makers worked to inform citizens about the new law and how familiar drivers are with the change of speed limit. If only a few drivers have ever heard of this lowered speed limit, the speaker’s following deduction will be groundless.

Even if the drivers are well-informed of the new regulation, which means the lowering speed limit has little effect, the speaker’s comparison between Prunty County and Butler County is hardly a solid one. On one hand, Butler County’s decreased number of accidents cannot be solely attributed to the road improvement project. It could be that highway patrol has been working extra hard, or safety education in Butler County has been extraordinarily successful. Information about other efforts made in order to make highway safer in Butler County should be included.

Say that the road improvement project almost solely contributed to the achievements Bulter County has made, it is still important that the speaker provides evidence such as the number of accidents and the road condition in both counties five years ago. Factors such as narrow highway, rough highways and dangerous intersection could always have contributed little in Prunty County, while serves as the notorious road killers in Butler County. If this is case, then emulating Butler County’s policy would have no use at all.

Essentially, throughout the argument, the speaker fails to point out what is main source of highway accidents in Prunty County, whether it is exceeding speed limit as implied in the argument, or poor road condition as supposedly in Butler County, or other factors that have not been brought up in the speaker’s deduction, such as drunk driving, ineffective highway patrol or frequently terrible weather. Without fully understanding the nature of accidents, it is futile to come up with a solution, let alone one that blindly follows another county where things could be completely different.

To sum up, the speaker’s proposal of adopting Butler County’s road improvement project in Prunty County and abandon the lowered speed limit is not convincing enough. To make a more solid claim, the speaker need to provide numerous evidence such as 1) how where the new speed limit is known to the public; 2) other efforts Butler County made to improve highway safety; 3) distinction between the highway situation of both counties five years ago and 4) the core reason of Prunty County’s road accidents. Before these evidence are provided, it would be too hasty to reach any conclusion.