The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.

The argument made in a newspaper editorial says that the autonomy of any country was is based on the strength of its borders. The author argues this based on the information that the illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin. The author's argument from the information in the newspaper editorial can not be examined without some proofs and evidences. Some more informations should be needed to examine this argument effectively.

To begin, how the illegal immigrants cannot be checked when they enter the country? No country will allow the immigrants to enter their country without checking them. If there is a possibility of illegal immigrants entering a country without get checked by the country, how it happens, is there any examples or proofs that it is a posssible thing that can happen. Without any analysis or proofs we cannot say that the thing like illegal immigrants are entering a country without got checked. This is accusation. So proofs and analysis that how this is possible will help to examine this argument effectively.

Further, How the illegal immigrants alone weaken the autonomy of any country or how the illegal immigrants playes a main role in this aspect? Other aspects like governance, their own people, industries, education and development of the country also plays a vital role in autonomy of any country. How strength of a country's border will alone play an important role in autonomy of any country rather than other important and development aspects of the country. Immigrants will sure expect to return to their own country or origin, but how does it turns into threats that will affect the autonomy of the country.

Thus the argument, as it stands now, is flawed with some unstated assumptions like immigrants could be left without checking. If the author is confident and is sure that he is right, then he must provide answers and proofs asked above, to make the argument effective. The more informations needed will help to examine the argument effectively