"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented here is that by reducing the number of moped rentals during the time of high demands for mopeds, accidents related to mopeds can be reduced. While it may seem to be a valid argument on the surface, the argument is rigged with assumptions, failure of which will change the outcome.

As mentioned in the argument, the island of Seaville had enforced similar regulations on reducing the number of moped rentals. First of all, the answer to whether restrictions in the number of rentals was the only measure taken in the neighboring island would help to access the efficacy of the measure. If there were other laws enforced, how much did each law contribute to the reduction in accidents should also be answered to be certain on whether reduction in the rental was the most effective method of reducing accidents.

After asnwering the questions about the measures taken in the neighbouring island, it is also necessary to determine reduction of rentals by what number would be the msot effective to decrease the number of accidents. In saying that reducing the rentals from 50 per day to 25 per day, the argument above provides no evidence to say why the number is appropriate. While decreasing the number of moped rentals might decrease the number of accidents, renting too few mopeds might hamper the economy and mode of life of the island, while renting too many mopeds might not significantly reduce accidents. Thus, more data needs to be gathered and analyzed to come up with the correct number for allowed rentals.

Further, the argument also assumes that reducing the moped rentals will decrease the accidents by 50 percent, but the argument fails to justify the number. As with the process of finding out what number of rentals should be allowed, there needs to be a proper analysis of how much reduction in accident can achieved by reducting the rental. Therefore, by developing a correlation between the number of reduction in rentals and the percentage of decrease in accidents, the town council will have a better idea while setting its target and will enforce restrictions accordingly.

The argument presents a measure to reduce accidents in the island of Balmer. If the argument is true, it provides the town council a solution to a serious problem of accidents. However, there are numerous questions that need to be addressed before the town council can adopt the recommendation. Propper justification of the numbers presented and more evidence on the efficiency of the measure in the neighbouring island will make the argument sound and will compel the town council to enforce the recommendation.