On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

The argument about the number of accidents could not support its result effectively and is as timely as ever. Ambiguities about the statistics, numbers decrease the reliance on evidence while author could render strong evidence with better statistics. The evidences and numbers which the author has provided are alone neither constitutes a logical argument in favor of the conclusion not provides compelling support making the argument sound. A careful scrutinization of the problem would reveal the Achilles’ heel of the article, which can be listed a follows.

First and for most, if there is reduction in rentals of number of mopeds than it would result either in the increase of the persons on each moped or either it would result in increase in the rentals of cars. Both the situation will not help in reducing the number of accidents on Balmer Island. As the number of persons will increase on moped it is very likely to lose the balance which will result in an accident. Also reducing the number of moped rental will increase the number of pedestrians which will also result into increase in number of accidents.

What's more, the author have compared the situation of the neighboring island of Torseau but have not mentioned any statistics or evidences to prove the scenario. Like we do not know anything about the geographical loaction of that island whether it is suitable or same as that of the Balmer Island. Also there is no information about the number of tourists visited the island of Torseau last year. What if the number of tourists visited the island last year was half the visitors which visit every year.

Last but not the least, author have mentioned a statistics of reducing the number of rental mopeds from fifty to thirty per day. What if most rental companies on Balmer Island rent only twenty five mopeds each day then this statistics will not help at all in deduction of the number of accidents.

To summarize, though the conclusion seems to be plausible, in fact, it lacks credibility because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what the arguer maintains. Author could strengthen his position by providing evidences like number of mopeds rented and other measures to tackle the reduction in number of rented moped or the one discussed above. So, to make it logically acceptable, the author would have to provide more evidence concerning the interior and exterior factors as well as overall survey result about attitudes towards the problem.