In the Bayhead Public Library, books that are rarely borrowed continue to take up shelf space year after year, while people who want to read a recent novel frequently find that the library's only copy is checked out. Clearly, the library's plan to replace books that are borrowed no more than once a year with sufficient copies of more recent books will solve this problem. The protest we have heard since this plan was made public has come from a small, and thus unrepresentative, group of some thirty people and so should therefore be ignored.

This argument is related to the plan which was made public by the library and the rising protest against it by a small bunch of people. Author says that rarely borrowed books, not having any reader, are occupying shelves.While recent novels frequently read are always checked out.The library planned to replace the old books by sufficient copies of newly arriving novels to solve the problem. This plan proposed by the library is opposed by a group of some thirty people.

Books are full of knowledge, whether it is new or old. Books which are occupying the library shelves might be related to historical events, constitution, laws, theories or encyclopedia. All these books are very important and are "must to have" for any library. Turning old or being read in a year will not decrease its importance. Since, library has not mentioned which books are being replaced, what they are related to, this argument will remain abysmal.

Readers have different interest in different books. Some like fiction, some like facts, some like poetry,and so on. Current generation is interested in reading novels as they try to attach themselves to the protagonist or the antagonist and try to imitatae their behaviour and way of living. Book selection is totally based on the age group as well as interest of readers. So, replacing old books by new novels will not do any good to the readers. It will upset some readers at the cost of happiness and interest of some others.

According to author, this plan is opposed by some people. To stop that protest, library should carefully analyse the interest of all the readers of all age groups and then take the decision accordingly. Library should keep in mind that books which are termed as new will turn into old one after a few years. Being a novel, it will be less important as compared to books on history,laws,etc. Whether the opposition is by an unrepresented bunch of people or by a crowd of people with a leader, both their views must be carefully listened and decision should be taken in their best interest.