Blue City Highway had always been notorious for its tight curves and poor roadway visibility, and the accident rate there was generally very high. Last year the highway was redesigned to broaden the curves and improve roadway visibility. Drivers report that they now feel much safer driving on the highway and that the redesign has been a big improvement. But the number of accidents on the highway has not been significantly lower in the six months since the redesign than it was in the six months before the redesign. Therefore, the redesign clearly did not improve the curves and roadway visibility enough to make a difference.

Argument given in the passage advocates about reducing the road accident on blue city highway by broadening the curves and improving the visibility because as given in the passage it states that there used to be more number of accidents due to this factors however, there seems to be no difference in the pattern of accident and proposal was not very helpful. Author concluded that broadening and improving the visibility did not help at all however, assumptions given in the argument seems fallacious and came to nonconstructive conclusion without investigating any further on the issue. Argument flawed in number of factors.

First of all, there is no substantial proof given in the passage about the number of accidents occurred before redesign and after redesign and therefore cannot jump to some abrupt conclusion that after implementation of suggestion, it did not work out. There is a possibility that people would had avoided taking the Blue city highway as it was already known for it mishaps even though there was significant change as stated by the drivers who drove on Blue highway after the redesign. Therefore, number of accident would have decreased but as there was less number of people of travelling the same route, it seems as if there was no significant change.

Secondly, arguer did not consider the data after six month of redesign. There is a high probability that accidents must have decreased and therefore improvements does help in eliminating the road hazards.

Thirdly, arguer did not consider other factors of accidents like drunk driving, poor road conditions, potholes, rash driving. Road maintenance association should also consider these factors and should work on it to prevent accidents. These factors are not considered in the passage which is also important.

It is evident that there could be other factors and reasons which would cause accident and even if broadening the road would have helped, but these factors were not taken care of which could have helped more and therefore, it is wrong to say that former did not proved to be useful.