Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

This argument is based on the replacement of butter by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants through out southwestern United States. According to the author, this replacement by the restaurant is welcomed by the customers. He has supported his argument by providing the figures which states that only 2 percent customers are complaining, rest are fine with it. But author has also clearly stated that the customers might not be able to differentiate between butter and margarine, so, the above figures provided by him holds no ground. They are irrelevant and are acquired by not providing complete information to the customers. The author is suggesting to imitate this cost saving change to its restaurants in southwest and northwest.

Planning the diet by ensuring the correct composition of ingredients is the golden rule for any restaurant. If any changes are made to the composition without seeking opinions from customers might lead to bad results. When customers were served with margarine, upsetting their regular composition of their diet, without asking them might have led them to turn to some other restaurant where there opinions are respected.

Margarine, being a less known ingredient might have some positive as well as negative impacts on health. It might taste similar to butter but its impact on health might not. It might be possible that customers are consuming margarine without even thinking about it because of their faith in the restaurant. It might be assumed by the customers that whatever served by the restaurant is of good quality and have no adverse effect on their health. Customers might be in wrong impression that margarine is better than butter because it has less fat and cholesterol. This can also be the reason for less complaints against margarine.

Before changing any ingredient, restaurant owner should inform his customers. Let customers decide what is wrong and what is right for them, after all they are paying for their meal. Owner should hold a voting session in his other restaurants in southeast and northeast and should take the decision accordingly. He should not take any decision blindly without informing his customers. He can extend his cost saving change to other restaurants only and only if he is allowed to do so by his customers.