Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well

The argument claims that by replacing the butter with margarine the expenses of the Happy Pancake House restaurants will go low, Since the customers either cannot distinguish between butter and margarine or they use the same term to refer both. Proclaimed this way the argument fails to mention several key factors and manipulates facts by which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. However, careful examination of the evidence provide little support to the conclusion.

Firstly, the argument readily claims that replacement of the butter with margarine have satisfied 98% of the population. This statement is only an assumption and do not have clear evidence to stand on. For instance, if the restaurant have introduced a new flavour in their menu initially all the customers tend to try it. That does not mean that it is a huge success, it might go well for sometime, but if the taste is not good then the sales will go low. If the argument could have stated explicitly stated that it has satisfied majority of the population from a while when the argument could have been much more convincing.

Secondly, the argument claims that many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. This stated is again a unsupported claim, because the author fails to explain the correlation between the servers report and the customers satisfaction. One cannot come to the conclusion only by the servers report because they might not give an accurate report. If the correlation between the servers report and the customers satisfaction the author could have sounded better.

Finally, the argument the avoiding expense of purchasing butter can make the profits reach to an eminent position. Again this statement is weak and unconvincing. However careful audit of the argument will reveal little support for the conclusion, but will rise several questions such as how will the profits of the bakery can increase by the replacement? Without answering these questions the argument will remain as a wishful thought rather than a substantial evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is weak and unconvincing. To bolster further, the argument should be provided with evidence and detailed analysis of the how the replacement of the butter with margarine can lower the expenses. To evaluate the argument it is necessary to provide more information about how the replacement will increase the profits of Happy Pancake House restaurants.