"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

The author concludes that Happy Pancake House should extend cost saving change to its restaurant by replacing butter with marganine. To support this claim the authors cites various premises; low percentage of people complainig, no complains of the customers and their incapability to distinguish margarine from butter. At first sight these premises seem to bolster the conclusion but meticulous analysis show otherwise. The failure of author's premises to prove the conclusion are explained below;

Firstly, the author states that only two percent of customers complained about maragrine. At first this seems to prove the conclusion as the percentage of complains is very low, but there is not mentioned the exact number from which percent is derived. It may be possible that number of people from which data is collected very less. But it may not be true that they are happy about the use of maragrine. It may be possible that Pancake's restaurant is the only one in their locality due which they have to accept changes.

Secondly, the author states that customers who want butter didn't complain when margarine is given to them instead of butter. However, it doesn't mean that they are satisfied with margarine. It may be possible that appearance of both butter and margarine be same or customers may be in hurry that they didn't have the time to notice that there is maragarine instead of butter.

Thirdly, the assumed that customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter. It might be due to the deceptive practices performed by restaurant's committee to reduce their expenses.Or customers may don't have any option to go without this restaurant due to which they have to accept changes made by restaurant's management committe.

In the sum, the author's conclusion was totally based on fallacious assumptions which leads to the failure of the argument. To make the argument more strong the author must have to provide the additional satatistics data regarding the behaviour of the people about the change in restaurant, number of other restaurants in nearby place. The availability of this information was required for further analysis of the argument.