Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

The author concludes that Happy Pancake House should avoid the expense of purchasing butter to increase their profitability and also to extend trhis cost saving change in other regions also like in northeast and southeast as well. The evidences cited to support this aregument are : data of those people who complained, no taste differentiation by the locals and analogy between the different areas of united states. However, the premises are unable to justify or strengthen the weak argument. The main reasons why the argument is rendered inconclusive are : no proper authenticity of the data, fallacious assumptions and wrong analogy in between the different regions of the country.

Firstly, the author states that only 2% people complained about the butter but what if these 2% people are the regular vistors of the restaurant and if they stopped eating in this restaurants there will be a huge loss. Furthermore, only few i.e. 2 out of 100 complained that also indicate that myriad amount of people have already started going in different restaurant which still offer buuter instead of margarine. So, to prove this satement valid author have to mention what was the previous number of customers that used to come in the restaurant and what is the number now? Whether there is a rise, fall or the number is still the same.Otherwise, the statement is inconclusive.

Secondly, the author mentioned that the customers can't differentiate between butter and margarine which is a complete fallacious statement. This is also possible that these people can't afford butter so they don't complain because now they can eat more in same budget as margarine is less costly to them so they can visit more often now. So, it doesn't mean they liked margarine. Butter can also have some deleterious effects on the health of the customers therefore, they avoid eating butter now, this can also be the reason for there not complaing.

Lastly, the author stated that these profit increasing techniques should be extended to other regions also like in northeast and southeast but there is no analogy between these regions. Maybe the people in those areas are more rich and they can easily afford butter. Also, every person has different taste, so the people of new area can may hate the margarine so they will visit some other restaurant which still offers butter as a result the profits will decline. Furthermore, the taste habits and other statistical data is neededed of that regions in order to extend this margae=rine in those areas. So, there is wrong analogy between the regions which engenders the argument inconclusive.

So, at the end the argument lack sufficient amount of data and repleted of fallacious assumptions which renders the argument inconclusive. So, the author in order to make the argument conclusive he has to provide more data and the proper analogy.