Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

The assumption of the author write in his memo that the life-size sculptures will has a less value than the miniatures sculptures, which is found in Kali Island sounds illogically convince with several reasons. However, the author ignored important information and some question needed to be answered in order to the final result is correct.

First, base on the fact archaeologists have discover mold of human head and hands in this region, the author infers that ancient Kalinese artist use of them to make Life-size clay statue. However, it is not necessarily the case. People, who live in different time, may create and use of this molds and the ancient artist did not use them. In addition, it is entirely possible this molds were carried to Kali Island from other regions. Without considering these possible scenarios, the author cannot justifiably conclude that ancient artists use molds for creating sculpture.

Second, the author claims that ancient artists had to create abstract miniature statues because they can not use molds for making them. Nevertheless, it is quite possible the miniature statues could have a special usage and ancient artists had to them abstract. In fact, these sculptures may use in traditional ceremonies as symbol of people’s gods, which were different shape from human. Since the argument relies on the limited information, the argument has many weaknesses.

In third place, the soundness of the conclusion the value of miniature sculptures is more than that of the full-size sculptures should be answered by the author. Many factors are effective for value of the work arts such as durability, usage, and age. From archaeological angle, the life-size statues are valuable than miniature because they have more age and can give beneficial information about ancient people. Since the author ignores these effective factors, I can not take the author’s final conclusion seriously.

In sum, the argument is rationally flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more information about the molds, which were discovered in Kali Island. In order to evaluate the authors’ conclusion, we need to know about all effective factors that makes a work art valuable.