colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

It goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where the technology growing so fast that it could hardly be believed, higher education plays an undeniable role. The main custodians for providing high educations are colleges and universities. These institutes use different strategy to educate their students which one of them is study abroad. However, there are different opinions regarding this issue. Some people may hold the view that it is a beneficial option .On the other hand, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that it is not suitable procedure. As far as I’m concerned, it is worthy and useful tool to advance education. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that a Student who spends at least a semester in another country will be exposed to a different and foreign culture and will interact with different type of people. He or she will be familiar with different set of social relations. In this way the aforementioned student will gain immeasurable firsthand knowledge that achieving them in his/her homeland is very hard, if not impossible. This unique knowledge can be a key for future social or career success. It can just be a cutting edge necessary to success in today multinational and competitive world.

Another equally significant point is language learning advantage. A student, who spends at least one semester in another country, has undeniable opportunity to learn a second language. It is common knowledge that to learn a foreign language in your country, on average, you need more than 2 years. Needless to say, the language learned in this way will not be hundred percent free of grammatical or structural problems. On the other hand, most linguistics believe that in regarding to language learning issue, six month exposure in native society is equal to more than one year hard work in language learning class. Hence, the unavoidable merit of study abroad.

However, many may argue that study abroad is costly process, and most of the students cannot pay for it. This is a true assumption for many cases, but the benefits of this strategy can be much more than cost of it. Moreover, there are solutions that can be used to decrease these expenditures. Colleges and universities can make agreements with each other to facilitate exchanging students. The other way is especial programs, such as teaching in language schools or living with willing families, that students can use them. These plans and programs can significantly reduce the expense for students.

to make a long story short, encouraging students to spends at least a semester in foreign country is justified in that this a good strategy to gain firsthand knowledge and experience about deferent culture, and it can help students to learn another language faster and in more accurate and fluent way. Although in some cases it may seem a costly option, but there are ways to reduces costs.