Company x has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hour per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday….reducing commuting time to and from work each week

Various organizations try different ways to cut on their expenses while keeping the employees happy. The company X here has tried to come up with something similar. The idea to provide one extra day off by offsetting a couple of extra working hours at first seems quite reasonable. However, this argument suffers from lack of support needed to justify the claims.

First of all it is not clear from the argument weather the company has made an inquiry into the fact that the main portion of expenses incurred are due to running office in daytime. It is possible that increasing working hours by 2 hours per day would require burning artificial lights more than the usual. And the heat generated would also lead to more air conditioning of the place. This would instead of reducing the expenses would lead to an increase. Keeping in mind that during the day all these expenses would not have occurred in the first place.

The company has linked reduction in the number of days and increase in the working hours per day with increasing the morale of the employees by reducing their commuting time. This argument is nowhere supported by any study that claims that employee morale is affected by the commuting time. The argument on the other hand may be flawed in this assumption. It may be that increasing number of hours per day may lead to skewing of work-life balance of the employees. And would result in low output because of increased dissatisfaction amongst the employees resulting in low output and low profits.

To summarize the argument the company has not provided amicable evidence for its claims to increase the working hours. And on analysis it seems that it may have upend the expected results without any supporting studies to prove otherwise.