The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework whereas in the district of Marlee most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no

The author claims that teachers in Sanlee should assign less homework than now because frequency of homework is contributing factor to improve students’ academic performance. This conclusion is based on comparison Marlee’s district with Sanlee’s, however, it seems that the author relies on numerous assumptions which not fully justified thus it is necessary to provide more information to evaluate the recommendation.

Firstly, the author assumes that primary cause of students’ performance is frequency of homework, however, it may not be the case. The frequency might not directly correlate to volume of assignment and the volume is not directly parallel to the time and effort required to complete them. Further evidence pertaining to difficulty of two districts’s homework is necessary to evaluate the author’s conclusion.

Next, the author presumes that method of science and math is applicable to every subjects, however, it may not adapt to overall subjects. Even if homework of two or three days per week produce better performance for math and science, there may be other subjects which need more effort for everyday, for example, musical or language courses may require more steady effort to yield better performance. Thus, the author have to suggest if there is no harmful effect of less frequency of homework for other subjects except for math and science.

Lastly, the author conjectures that district of Sanlee and Marlee is comparable, nevertheless, they may have different characteristics to compare with. There are several contributing factors to determine students’ academic performance besides frequency of homework. For example, two districts have difference in teaching effectiveness, previous education background of students’, socio-economic background of students’ or atmosphere of studying. Those factors may influence an ability of students, thus, evidence relating to characteristics of two district is essential to evaluate the author’s claim.

In sum, the author tried to make a plausible recommendation, but evidence for justifying the conclusion is limited and author depends on unjustifiable assumptions. To be more valid claim, the author need to provide evidence pertaining to difficulty of two districts’s homework, side-effect of less homework for other subjects, and similarity of two districts is necessary.