"Davis Technologies, a computer-chip maker, could solve its problem of declining sales by dropping its prices. This would make Davis better able to compete in the highly competitive computer chip market. The sales of chips would increase and this would su

The argument presented suffers from glaring weaknesses in it's reasoning and it's lack of evidence. It's reasoning relies on several assumptions, all of which are unsupported.

Firstly, the argument above assumes that sales of Davis' products are a result of it's high prices. However, the passage neglects to support this statement. Without supporting evidence, one could easily imagine a number of reasons that may result in a decline in sales. A poor quality product may be driving consumers away. Also, Davis' poor sales performance may not be a result of their high prices but of the emergence of competitors, thus providing consumers with greater choice. Alternatively, the sales of the computer-chip manufacturing industry as a whole may be in decline as a result of the emergence of a substitute product.

A second assumption is that which states that Davis could lower the price of it's product and thus become more competitive. The article does not highlight how low Davis is able to lower it's prices. It is conceivable that Davis may only be able to afford to lower it's prices to a level which remains uncompetitive. Under such a situation, it is difficult to see how Davis could become more competitive vis-a-vis it's rivals.

Furthermore, the argument has assumed that a lowering of prices will be sufficient for the firm to capture a greater share of the market. Following on from the previous point, it is impossible to see how a larger consumer base could result in a market competing purely on price. Additionally, it is plausible that there is simply no room left for Davis to lower prices further. Potentially, the firm is making a minimal profit from the sale of it's product and therefore has little room available to adjust prices. In this case, Davis is simply an inefficient producer of computer chips.

As stated, the problems in the articles' reasoning are multiplied by it's lack of supporting evidence. Figures proving that a lower price could succeed in capturing a larger market share would greatly strengthen the arguments' conclusion. Facts which prove that Davis' product is comparable in quality to it's lower priced rivals would add greater credence to the arguments' assertion that Davis could improve it's market share.

In conclusion, the flawed assumptions of the argument are highlighted by the lack of evidence it cites. The argument's claim could be greatly strengthened by rendering these assumptions inviolable through the use of appropriate evidence.