Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument.

The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

The Vice-president of the Nature’s way recommends that the destination for the next new store is Plainsville. The assumption that is made is that the more the residents in a particular area are health concerned, the more prosperous their business would be. This is untenable and the evidence provided is insufficient and weak. The article is deceptively plausible and has the appearance of valid reasoning .But since it contains several flaws and its evidence is poor, It is unconvincing.

Firstly, The article fails to give any statistics regarding the increase in profitability in regions where residents are highly health conscious when compared to other competitors. Company marketing should look into why sales are not sound in other regions. Just because sales are low in a particular area, One cannot come to a conclusion that people are not health conscious. Probably due to lack of popularity for the brand may also be the reason. The Author seems to not to consider this point of view.

Also, the article gives information of all time high sales of running shoes and exercise clothing. The statistics related to this aspect for a substantial period of time is not mentioned. This is a very crucial aspect to look into because based on the data that is collected for a little amount of time, say one or two months, will only provide the transient change. There is huge possibility of erring if this aspect is not considered.

The reason for why the local health club has regained its importance is not specified nor it appears to me seems to be taken a view at by the vice-president. The reason for why such a overwhelming response has taken place in the weight training and aerobics classes is also not specified. This may be because of some outbreak of a disease which has made people conscious of their health. There is no assurance that they would continue it for a significant amount of time.

Common sense tells me that the author’s statement that new generation of customers can be anticipated to join the league by involving students in several fitness program is very weak and cannot be proceeded without verifying any Numerical data related to the interest that students portray. The age group of the students and their strength in the current scenario is also not given.

Hence, The Article is flawed in various aspects as it failed to taken in to account of many possibilities which are equally probable. It would have been strengthened by mentioning the statistics of students’ population, reasons for the immense response of people to health care products in that region. Without ruling out all the possibilities, It is extremely difficult to accept the validity of the argument of author and implement his recommendation