"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot manufacturing has proposed to reduce the shift work hours by an hour, based on the study that number of accidents is directly related with worker fatigue. He also brings in comparison of number of accidents in Quiot with that in Panoply which has a less number of working hours to support this point. However, the assumptions and evidence used to arrive at the conclusion are of dubious nature. In order to better evaluate the argument, additional evidences and analysis is needed.

To start with, the first assumption that the vice president has made is comparing the number of on -the-job accidents in Quiot with that in Panoply Industries. But, there is no evidence that shows that the two industries are identical in any way. Hence, it is a callous assumption that irrespective of what and how the Panoply Industry produces, its accident rate can be compared with that of the Quiot. It is possible that the kind of product the Panoply industry makes does not involve manual intervention. There could also be the case that the total number of workers working in the other industry is much lesser that those in the Quiot. In which case, the total number of on-the-job accidents cannot be compared for the two industries. Therefore, further evidence is needed to establish that the two industries are comparable to each other in the first place.

The second assumption that is made is that reducing an hour from each shift will help reduce the number of accidents, as it assumed that it will give more time for the workers to sleep. How do we know whether the worker in that extra hour of break, will sleep and not engage in some other activity. There is no such evidence provided to support this assumption. On the contrary, if the workers in that extra hour, engage in a more physically taxing activity then they would be more tired the next shift. Evidence must therefore be provided to support this claim of an extra hour equals extra hour of sleep for every worker. Unless this is established, the assumption is on dubious ground.

Furthermore, by reducing the working hours per shift, the vice president assumes that the workers will become more productive than before. This assumption is not supported by any evidence and can in turn upend. If, the productivity does not increase as expected, the profits of the Quiot would go down. However, if the vice president could provide evidence that suggests that increasing breaks results in higher productivity, then in that case, the evidence could support the conclusion.

To sum, the vice president has arrived at a conclusion which might be interesting to try out. However, the evidence present are not tested and firmly grounded with facts and therefore, they cannot be posit as supporting arguments to the conclusion of reducing work hours can lead to reduce accidents and increase productivity in Quiot.