"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo claims that to reduce the high on-the-job accident rate and thereby increase productivity, Quiot should shorten its work shifts by one hour, adopted by Panoply Industries plant which has a comparatively low on-the-job accident rate. To further buttress this argument, he cites experts' view that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers play a major role in some on-the-job accidents. This argument, however, hardly stands owing to many unwarranted assumptions on which it relies.

First of all, compared with Panoply, Quiot had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents last year, which assumes that the absolute number of its accidents is much higher and the phenomenon will continue. If the numbers of on-the-job accidents were three and two at Quiot and at Panoply respectively, it does not indicate the former has too more accidents than the latter; if there are different statistical standards between both enterprises, Quiot, even if has more accidents, may have less serious accidents and far less losses than Panoply; and except for the last year, the numbers of accidents at Quiot were fewer than Panoply during the past decade and the trend will continue in the future. Without more clear information about these aspects, it cannot confirm that the on-the-job accidents in Quiot last year were really worse than Panoply, and that this situation remains constant.

Based on the above assumption, Quiot's imitation of Panoply's shortening one hour of each work shift supposedly can achieve the same results: the reduction of its on-the-job accidents. To arrive this consequence, the levels at both the enterprise and the employee need to be explained. At the enterprise level, Quiot and Panoply may supply different working conditions for employees—the latter has safer workplaces, better safety education and training, and more efficient safety measures and management than the former. At the employee level, even the one more hour leisure time is offered to Quiot's employees, who may be doing such things as dating, playing and shopping rather than resting and sleeping. Most importantly, the accidents in Quiot may be completely unrelated to the length of employees' worktime. Not ruling out these differences, it is difficult to assert that after imitating Panoply, Quiot will decrease the accident rate accordingly.

Additionally, to consolidate the foregoing assertion, it assumes experts' view is suitable to Quiot that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significantly important in many on-the-job accidents. Maybe, this view aims at heavy industry, not at service industry like Quiot, where on-the-job accidents due to fatigue and sleep deprivation rarely happen. Moreover, what does the word 'significantly' mean? It may suggest that among all the factors contributing to on-the-job accidents, fatigue and sleep deprivation may account for 10 percent while bad working conditions may be 50 percent. Consequently, Quiot is not the case as experts say.

Valid though all above-mentioned assumptions may be, it then concludes that the productivity in Quiot will rise, hypothesizing the enterprise's productivity is decided by a single factor—the energetic employees. This may be true in some enterprises, but rather the productivity at Quiot depends on more factors, macro and micro. The macro factors include the advance of production technology, the availability of raw materials, and other aspects from inside and outside the enterprise; the micro has individual knowledge, skills, attitudes, and so on. Obviously, the assumption is biased and the increase in Quiot's productivity is also doubtful.

To sum up, it is necessary for Quiot to make a deeper, more comprehensive analysis to achieve the decrease of the number of on-the-job accidents, and to seek for more efficient alternative ways to increase the productivity. Only roughly emulating Panoply's shortening the time of work shifts and routinely conforming to experts' report are the above-mentioned goals hard to come true.