In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits

Attempting for better productivity of the Climpson Industries' employees is certainly a legitimate cause to embark upon. However, implementing an electronic tracking system for this purpose does not seem convincing enough as this argument fails to justify the implicit assumptions and their implications.

The implementation of such monitoring system assumes that the online recreational activities are adversely affecting employees' productivity and the company's profits. If, on the other hand, employees are spending a fraction of their work hours browsing, the entire venture is questionable as it would fail to showcase a marked difference in productivity.

Even if we were to ignore the previous implication, it is unclear whether the employees would spend the work hours, saved by not browsing, on doing their job. It is highly probable that this would instead lead to longer water cooler breaks. In fact, this may also cause the employees to procrastinate more as they are unlikely to be motivated to work once their internet freedoms are curtailed.

Building upon the previous line of thought, this system could not hope to improve work ethic if it aggrandizes procrastination and leads to a fall in employee morale. It is ubiquitously known that punishing someone does not lead to an improvement in their demeanor. If, then, as cited by the passage that the company's profitability depends upon fostering a better work ethic, this would be detrimental instead of ameliorating the problem.

A flourishing work force that is profitable to the company is certainly an attractive situation. For this reason Climpson Industries may choose to improve productivity. But the proposal of implementing a monitoring system to achieve this is unlikely to be accepted as a result of its endogenous faults.