Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase.

The argument claims that the profits of the company will increase in due course of time. Since, they now have a reliable supply of reliable high quality fabric to manufacture alpaca overcoat, which they were lacking five years ago. In addition, their major competitor no longer manufactures alpaca overcoat the argument assumes that there will be pent-up customer demand. Stated this way the argument did not mention several key factors and manipulates facts, on which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument depends on the assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore the argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that the sales of alpaca overcoat should go high because, they have not offered it from five years. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. For Instance, Apple company have launched I-phone 6 series in mid 2013 many of the customers were excited to buy them. Later in 2016 again they have launched I-phone 7 series with some minimal changes, mostly as a mimic to I-phone 6 after that product launch the sales of their company considerably went low. Unfortunately, I-phone 7 had barely changed from it's predecessor. So, the market keeps on changing day by day and people might not show the same interest in buying the product, which they have already seen five years ago.

Another example is that Motorola have introduced a model named Razer 1232 in the year 2002. That was a huge success and unfortunately company faces financial fluctuations the next year and google bought the company. Recently, when Lenovo bought the company they relaunch the same product and it was a disaster. This is because the customer interest have changed a lot over time. The argument could have been better if the author had mentioned relevant examples to justify his claim.

Secondly, the argument claims that since, the major opponent of the company dose not produce overcoats the customer demand will go up. Again, this statement is weak and unsupported. The argument does not mention any correlation between the customer growth and the production of overcoats by the opponent company. If the correlation was mention correctly with evidence then, the author would have sounded a bit better. In addition there is no clear evidence to say that the customer growth can go up since, the production of the major opponent went low.

Finally, the argument concludes that the company profits will increase, because the prices of the clothes have increased.

This statement is again unclear, the statement with out any substantive evidence will be a wishful statement. If the argument would have provide with explicit evidence which can illustrate that the sales of the company can go up as the prices of the clothes have increased then it would have considerably strengthened the argument. Hence, the conclusion is a statement with no legs to stand on.

In summary, the argument is weak and unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts. Without this information the argument is unclear and will remain as a open debate.