The following appeared in an announcement issued by the publisher of The Mercury, a weekly newspaper:

“Since a competing lower-priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury’s circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper.”

The above argument states that a new marketing strategy of The Bugle, decreasing the price of newspaper, has affected the demand of The Mercury for the last five years. Therefore, the Mercury plans to make the price lower than their competitor to attract more readers. Moreover, the author claims that it will rise the number of clients who will post their advertisements in the Mercury’s newspaper. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumption for which there is no lucid evidence. Hence, the argument is not convincing and has several loopholes.

First, the author claims that there is a direct link between a declined number of readers and the introduction of a new price strategy of a rival, The Bugle. Nevertheless, he has ignored several facts. For instance, the decreased demand might be a result of the diminished level of a quality of articles. Additionally, there might be other competitors applying various marketing strategies. Moreover, the author has not mentioned the circulation of The Bugle. Hence, we are not aware of situation at the market. So, there could be other reasons as for instance, the market totally has decreased as nowadays people prefer internet sources of news to newspapers. The author has overlooked all these factors, hence, the argument cannot be concluded on the basis of these statements.

Another point is about the author has not mentioned the fields of newspapers. Whether the areas of topics of these two newspapers are totally different from each other, it is illogical to categorize them in the same group and compare. If The Bugle is the political newspaper and The Mercury is the medical newspaper, there is a very low probability that they will affect each other circulation. Hence, it can be concluded that this argument is incomplete and deprived of enough evidence. Therefore, this conclusion is not very convincing.

There is one more low point of this argument. According to the conclusion of this argument, the risen level of circulation of the Mercury will affect the number of businesses who are willing to post advertisement in the newspaper. However, other circumstances are neglected. The increased number of readers does not signify the efficiency of advertising. Other facts as the fee of advertisement, the readership of newspaper and etc. are taken into account by businesses while selecting newspapers to publish their advertisement. So, the author has simply skipped this line of reasoning.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. The author should take into consideration the current situation at the market overall, the degree of quality of newspapers articles, all competitors, and etc. Moreover, in order to be comparable the newspapers should have identical areas of topics. Before any decision is made, all these things must be considered. In the end, we can say that this argument needs a detailed study of many other factors and the author should have provided a few proofs and data to establish this relationship.