The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that a recent interview with children from Tertia refutes Dr. Field preciding findings; the interview seems to be enough of evidence for the author to base his many unprooven assumptions to their conclusion that contradict the original research. The argument also reveals examples of leaps of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. The argument is, thus, week for several inherent flaws.

First, the argument mention Dr. Field’s observations. there is no account of the scientific method that these observations were based upon. If Dr. Karp, the writer of the new study, would have provide a comparision between his field study method and the method performed by Field, the reader could have much better picture of the validity of both the studies. But, from a reason that is not clear from the passague, Dr. Karp does not mention the scientific methods performed by dr. Field.

Additionaly, The scientific method of Karp’s study itself is insufficient for a valid scientific data. The finding of Karp are based on interviews. the interviews are full of logical flaws. For example, the children say they spend much more time talking about their parents. But there is no evidence that Karp bothered to verify that what the childrren say and the reality are aligned. Furthermore, even if they do talk more about their parents, it does not show enough information to negate the possibility that these children are still being reared by the community.

Furthermore, here Karp goes by in a major ill faithed leap and claims that emprical evidence that is based on “observation-centered” approach is wrong and that interview-center is the way researches should be conducted. of course, to base such a statement purly on one or even few interviews is not likely to be true. And this is on the verge of charletaun. It is not expected from a scientific paper of any field to be so dubious. And there are so many flaws in Karp logic, method, and presentations, not to mention his eccentric end egocentric deductions that Karp article is clearly fail to have any scientific substance. The arguement is based on assumptions which are clearly wrong. And on evidence which is clearly partial and/or insufficient; usually both.

To conclude, Karp findings where unprofessional from the bottom up. Karp seems to do anything backward in this paper. Massive generalization from minimal evidence. All in order to disprove Field observation-centric approach which Karp provide almost no information about. Alltogether, looking on evidence, it is really hard to agree with Karp’s conclustions. A better research of Karp would try to check assumptions and verify facts, before jumping to hasty conclustions. “Better safe than sorry”.