The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertia village culture is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp has explained about his experience with Tertia region where he compares his observations with Dr. Field’s conclusion about his statement on children in Tertia, he explains that they were reared by entire village rather than their own biological parents. As per my understanding, Dr. Fields conclusion was derived twenty years ago but Dr. Karp gives his judgment on Dr. Field’s research was invalid. Looking at Dr. Fields observation and Dr. Karp’s current interviews it gives me a clear visibility about the variation in time. Over a period of twenty years children and people living in Tertia have showed change in life culture; however this does not give enough proof to determine that Dr. Field’s conclusion about terrain village culture is invalid.

Dr. Karp also added that his grad students will further do research on Tertia region and collect more accurate information about child rearing tradition, by which I could draw a line that Dr. Karp does not have accurate information yet and has a plan to allow his grad students to do their further study on the child-rearing tradition.

The author does not have enough evidence to prove Dr. Field’s researches on children from Tertia region are not reared by their own biological parents. However Dr. Karp states about the interview in which he has quoted that the children are talking about biological parents than other elders, here I understand that talking about their own parents does not give enough information on their rearing culture. Hence I would conclude stating Dr. Field’s conclusion about terrain village culture is invalid.