The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The assumptions of Dr. Karp, an anthropologist are written in his memo about the past survey was false and his team of graduated students can gain accurate understanding of child-rearing in the island with the interview approach. The author ignored important information and some question should be answered in order to decide the recommendation is likely to have predicted results.

The first question should be answered that whether all conditions in this island was stable during twenty years. It is quite possible that Dr. Field’s conclusion at that time, while changing condition during these years lead to Dr. Karp acquire different result. For example, residents in Tertia have more responsible for rearing each other children in twenty years ago, while some conflicts cause they pay more attention on their family. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that a survey, which Dr. Field did, is false.

Second, the author relies on the fact that speaking more about parents is an indication children was reared by parents. However, it is not necessarily the case. Parents may teach some important traditional to the children, which affect them significantly, while children spend much time with other resident in this island.

In the third place, base on the fact that interviews can results accurate information, the author infers that a team of graduated students will establish a much more accurate understanding of the matter. The interview may is best procedure in this matter, while a graduated students might have not enough experience to use this approach. In addition, students can not speak with the native language and they misinterpret of residents’ answers, which affect the survey negatively. Since, the author ignore this effective factors, his conclusion can not be acceptable.

In sum, the argument is flawed rationally and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument the author must provide clear guarantees that graduated students can gain better results. In order to evaluate the recommendation, we would need more information about the condition of Tertia during twenty years ago.