The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

While it seems that promofoods canned tuna are healthy for consumption, but there is lot of weaknesses in the arguement.

Tests are performed by chemists from Promofoods, there is a possibility that these chemists are not disinterested while declaring results. As the tests are performed by the chemists of Promofoods, their authenticy should be questioned. There might be case that these chemists has proclivity for their company.

Moreover, as tests are performed inside company and no other authority examined it. There might be case that these chemists are threatend by their superiors to malign the results. As promofood is already under scrutiny for adulteration, chemists of promofood can be corrupt as well.

Furthermore, it is stated small amount of three suspected chemicals that occur naturally is found in these cans but that amount is not mentioned. For example food council had set strict threshold value and harmful chemicals should not exceed that value. Is this small amount is lesser than that value.

Scale of test is not mentioned. It is not mentioned on how many cans were these tests performed. As Promofood tuna cans may come in different flavours as it is reputed packeged food company. Has tests on all the different flavors of tuna are performed.