The following appeared in a business magazine.

As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

There is a report of recalled tuna cans from Promofoods in a business magazine. After consumers have the symptom of dizziness and nausea, the Promofoods recalls eight million cans of tuna for detecting. They claim that their tuna cans could not cause any health problem. They suggest that according to their testing consequence, there are eight food chemicals would cause dizziness and nausea. The five did not find among their cans and the other three were too minimum amount to cause the symptom. However, there are numerous questions need to be investigated before we accept this conclusion.

To begin with, the company recalled eight million cans for testing. It is doubtful that whether all these eight million cans were examined. If the company just tested these cans randomly or just tested some groups of them, it is possible that the problem cans were the missed ones. The conclusion, therefore, would be partial. The company needs to offer more details of the testing, and they have to guarantee that all these recalled cans all have opportunities to be detected.

The other equivocal fact is that the conclusion was based on the testing performance which was executed by their own chemists. Given the dubious honor of the earlier complaints, the confidence of the assertion seems untenable. Perhaps this scientific report is fake to belie the problems tuna cans. There are plenty of examples that the scientists are paid to cover the truth. Some scientists, for instance, are paid to proclaim that the green housing effect is not existent for the idea of commercial benefits. Moreover, it cannot be sure if test regulations are standard. Food safety occurred in Taiwan usually because of the different testing standard. Promofoods need to supply the evidence that the test was from the professional and non-business relationship laboratory to strengthen its reliability.

On the other hand, the company asserts that there are eight most commonly chemicals for causing dizziness and nausea. It could be a possibility that there are some non-most commonly chemicals in the tuna cans and cause the symptom since there is a fact that consumers got dizziness and nausea. The company should analyze more deeply to figure out if they overlook the chemicals could cause people sick.

Finally, at the end of this claim, Promofoods indicates that although the three chemicals which were the most commonly chemicals for dizziness and nausea were found in these tuna cans, they were small amounts and naturally occurred in all canned food. Since these chemicals are common in all canned food, the ramifications of feeling uncomfortable are unconvincing. Why do these tuna cans cause the symptom but others? Additionally, there is no information about the regular mounts occurred in canned food would be in the safe zone. Promofoods company should provide more details about these three chemicals.

In conclusion, the argument is not convincing as it represents. To reinforce the statement, the arguer should offer the proof of more complete and professional testing, the other possible chemicals would cause dizziness and nausea, and the information of three chemicals. Without these details, it is unwarranted to accept the argument.