The following appeared in an email written by the head of market research division to the president of a major candy company:

“In the last four years the gross sales in the candy market have remained static, but ice cream, another confectionary

product, has experienced huge increases in gross sales. Specifically, the growth of boutique ice cream brands specializing in unusual savory ice cream flavors such as pink peppercorn, basil, and ginger, has exploded. In response, we have tested

some savory flavored candy chews at a number of national gourmet food fairs. The response to our free samples has been

extremely enthusiastic. Therefore we should jump to the forefront of this trend and launch our savory candy chews

nationally at all retail outlets.”

The conclusion drawn up by the author is based on a number of arguments that are unsubstantial and little information is considered. A number of questions need to be answered to determine whether the suggestion would indeed provide the results it predicts.

Firstly, the premise of ice cream products experiencing huge increase in gross sales need to analyzed further. Has the increase been consistent throughtout the four years?Ice cream product sales are bound to increase during summer rather than winter. Was this seasonal demand responsible for the increase in sales? Is the sale in candy market comparable to that of ice cream? It is also possible that even after the huge increase in ice cream, the candy market sale maintains the lead. It is also mentioned that growth of unusual savory flavoured ice creams have exploded. It is a common habit of humans to immerse themselves in new things. Has this been the only factor for the hike in sales? The author disregards such questions while reaching the conclusion.

Secondly, the enthusiastic response to the free samples provided at national gourmet food fairs was the basis on which the author jumps to the recommendation. However, free samples of most products are received with enthusiasm. Hence, can the response received be trusted. Again, the possibility that the response was positive due to the release of a new flavor in candy chews is present. Furthermore, the people attending the national food fair need not represent the entire population of the country. Therefore, reaching this conclusion with this unsatisfactory evidence is not justifiable.

Thirdly, the author recommends that the savoury candy chews need to be launched nationally in all retail outlets. However, this recommendation is too reckless and relies on the response received from few national food fairs. A number of questions need to be answered before relying completely on this premise. Has the sample been included in national fairs located at all regions of retail outlets? It is possible that the success of the sampled candies are restricted to only certain regions. Also, can this success in sale be consistent on a longer run? It is possible that the sales might diminish once the freshness of the idea is gone. Such alternate scenarios need to examined carefully by the author.

To conclude, the author arrives at the conclusion hurriedly without considering all possible scenarios and the line of reasoning is flawed. To strengthen the arguments, the author needs to consider additional facts and access current situations in detail. Only then, can a justifiable conclusion be drawn up.