The following appeared in an internal memo circulated amongst the partners of a small design firm:

“We, the four partners of Max Design, have made the company what it is. When we are hired by a client, it is our taste and

style that the client is paying for. In the last two years we have grown significantly and now have project managers

handling many of our recent contracts. In my opinion, the work put forth by the teams led by the product managers is not

as good as the work put forth when it was just the four of us. At other design firms of a similar size, the principals remain

personally involved in all projects. Therefore, from now on, all decisions for all projects, no matter how minute, should be

signed off by one of us.”

The arguments on which the author arrives at the conclusion is unsubstantial and the evidence presented is not strong enough to justify the conclusion. Important information has been ignored and faulty line of reasoning is employed which renders the conclusion unsound.

Firstly, the author implies that the growth of the company was only through the effort of the four partners. However, can this opinion be unbiased and truly believed? It is only logical that with the growth of a company, more hands are required to help out especially since the growth is significant. Can the effort put in by the employees be categorized as invaluable? Hence, the premise on which the recommendation is based evokes a number of questions that require a solid answer.

Secondly, the conclusion rests on the argument that the work put forth by the teams are not up to the mark set by the four partners. Again, the possibility that the opinion is biased is existant. Even if we assume that the opinion is unbiased, it arises doubts regarding the method by which the work has been measured. Has the work of teams drastically affected the prestige of the company? It is possible that the work lacked quality because the employees were not familiar with it and would improve themselves in the coming projects. Since the time frame in which the work has been evaluated is small, it is unsafe to reject these possibilities entirely.

Thirdly, the author puts forward the example of other similar sized companies where in the principals involve themselves in all projects. However, similar sized companies may not have the same reputation, quality of work or number of projects. Also, the extent of involvement of the principals is not explicitly specified. It is possible that they may just supervise the last stages of the project and remain absent in the initial developments. Hence, arriving at the conclusion that the four partners must involve themselves in each and every step of the project is unnecessary.

To sum, the author reaches upon the suggestion after considering little information and provides insufficient facts to strengthen the arguments. Hence, the situation needs further analysis before arriving at a sound and logical conclusion.