The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has put forward an argument regarding the increasing number of accidents on Balmer Island. As the population of the island increases during summer season, there is a possibility of increasing accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, moped being the popular form of transportation. Therefore, the number of moped rentals must be qualified during this season. However, the argument is flawed in the way that author fails to substantiate it with strong evidences and is teemed with poor reasoning. Hence, it is not essential that the recommendation will have the predicted result.

First of all, the major assumption made in the argument is that the number of moped accidents are directly related to the number of mopeds on the island. In fact, the number of mopeds are being considered as the only underlying reason for the accidents. This idea is somehow plausible, but there are various factors that may lead to road accidents.

One of those unstated factors are ineffectual traffic rules. There is no consideration of the rigidity of the traffic rules in the area, in terms of speed. Over-speeding is always perilous when there is surfeit of traffic on the road. Whether government has taken any initiative to ensure the road safety measures have not been declared. Another factor is that there are various people who are inept in driving skills and are still handed over the license to drive. Therefore, they are oblivious of the basic driving rules and etiquettes. If there are robust underlying criteria for verifying driving skills or not, has been left unanswered.

Furthermore, the road conditions plays a pivotal role in controlling the traffic, substandard roads often resulting in accidents. Also, if there are separate lanes on the road, for two wheelers and pedestrians, then it is highly unlikely that the accidents may still happen. There is no reflection on the road condition on the island in the stated argument.

Another major flaw in the argument is the author’s reliability on the results that have been achieved on the neighboring island of Seaville. If the argument had provided evidence that the two islands are correlated, in terms of the factors that have been mentioned above, and illustrating the same, then the argument would have been stronger. This assumption is unsubstantiated as there is no comparison between the type of population on the two islands, traffic rules, road conditions, etc. There can be some other initiatives that Seaville’s town council might have taken to control the accidents apart from the reduction in the moped rentals.

Hence, the careful perusing of the evidence provided in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered and without the convincing answers to the same, the reader cannot consider it to be substantive. To buttress the argument, the author must consider all the factors that undergirds the claim of reduction in road accidents.