The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

The author of the recommendation which has introduced in the article has based his/her assumptions on a weak reasoning which are groundless and confronting with various problems in cogency. In order to evaluate the argument and decide whether it is likely to have the predicted result, some questions should be answered.

The author’s argument that increases in the population of the Balmer Island in summer months led to the number of accidents is not persuasive because there is no statistic information about the exact relationship between the number of accidents and its proportion to the number of people. It should be considered that maybe by comparing the proportion of the population to accidents in summer months to other months of the year; the number of the accident is not considerable. So, is the proportion of the population to accidents of pedestrians and mopeds in summer months higher than other months of the year? Are there any pavements in the Balmer Island for people to walk or they have moved through the ways where mopeds are running? Are Balmer Island’s legislations of transportation strict both for people and mopeds? Because by enacting strict laws which can delineate particular ways for mopeds or people, Balmer councel can reduce the number of accidents without limiting the rate of transportation not just in the summer months but in throughout the year.

Another question which can cast doubt on the validity of the argument of the author to limit the number of mopeds from 50 to 25 per day is that on which basis the assumption has based? Why reducing the number of mopeds from 50 to 30 is not effective and why 10 number of mopeds per day is not better than 25? Do other numbers work inefficiently? There is a possibility that by reducing numbers to fewer ones, the number of accidents has decreased. Also, by declining the number of mopeds, what are other alternatives to transfer people? are there any other means for them to reach their destination? Because be reducing the number of mopeds, consequently, the number of people in need to travel with mopeds will increase and as their demands increase, the city council will be obliged to increase the number of mopeds to its previous state.

Furthermore, the comparison of the author between Balmer and Island of Seaville is not cogent due to the fact that there is no information about limiting laws in the Island of Seaville about how they limit the rate of rental. Do their programs focus on decreasing the number of mopeds to halve? Maybe they have limited mopeds transportation in specific regions where the population is concentrated which in this situation, Balmer’s council can also set limitations only to specific parts of the Island in order to reduce the number of accidents. Moreover, what are similarity between the number of population and Mopeds in Seaville town and Balmer? Do Seaville town equipped with alternative means of transportation? Just by answering these questions and providing informative and comprehensive data, the author’s arguments will be considered as cogent, because Seaville situation is different from Balmer in geographical, population, transportation and legislations aspects and just by a superficial comparison between two areas, cannot conclude that the Seaville’s council program is adaptive to the Balmer Island.

32 minutes.