The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There is a letter mentions that in order to decrease the mopeds accidents when the population increase to 100,000 during the summer vacation, the council of Balmer Island should restrict the number of rented mopeds from 50 per day to 25 per day. The arguer indicates the case that the council successfully reduced the moped accidents by limiting the number of rentals while facing the similar obstacle in the near island of Seaville to support his/her inference. However, there are a few concerns must be addressed.

To begin with, the author did not illustrate the resource of the letter is based on the government or the private statistics and reason that the rental number is undercut by fifty percent off. Besides, there is no clue to connect the relation between the increasing population and the soaring accidents in the summer months. The most dubious fact is that the causing reason and the time period of experience in the Seaville Island. We cannot be sure what had swelled the mopeds accidents and the lasting effect on limiting rental mopeds according to this argument. It could be more convincing to warrant where these statistics come from and the continuous examination of the policy.

On the other hand, it is sure that the accidents would subside by limiting the rental number of mopeds when these accidents were occurred by rental mopeds. Nevertheless, we can only observe the accidents were involved by mopeds and pedestrians. Perhaps the mopeds which result the accidents are brought by the tourists. As the popularity of mopeds, it even can be the possible that these mopeds are bought in Balmer Island. Furthermore, the accidents would arise can be any other reason such as the careless visitors who are too exciting to watch the safety or the terrible system of the road to bear the great population in the summer vacation. Any of these scenarios, if true, would undermine the claim that limiting the number of rental mopeds decrease the accidents. We have to detect the major reason of the accidents.

Finally, the author assumes too hastily that the restricting policy will necessarily result in decreasing accidents based on the experience of Seaville Island last year. Although Balmer Island and Seaville Island are close, still they are completely different two islands: they may have a different culture, geography, and the population. For instance, the diverse studying policies for entering university in America are famous and outstanding; still, these caused a great deal of problems in Taiwan for the reason of the attention on studying in Chinese society. Therefore, the council of Balmer needs to analyze the difference between these two islands and search for the variable measures to descend the accidents.

In conclusion, this argument is unacceptable as it represents. To reinforce the statement, the author would have to show the resource of the statistics and the major reason of the accidents. Additionally, the author must figure out the difference between Balmer Island and Seaville Island to measure the suitability of executing the policy.