The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

@essayE-rater Could you please review the synopsis instead of a whole essay? That accelarates the practice.

Limiting the number of moped rented does not necessarily reduce the number of mopeds on the road.

- Some company might divide itself to multiple small companies to increase the number of mopeds that they can rent in a day

- When renting a moped becomes less convenience, more people might simply buy one

- Question: will there be less people riding mopeds if the limit is enforced?

No direct evidence shows that in Seaville the annual reduction in moped accidents is due to limiting the number of moped

rental. Other reasons could also give rise to the reduction

- People moving out in Seaville could also result in a decline in moped accidents

- Traffic condition might have improved in Seaville

- Question: Is moped rental restriction the real reason that has caused a reduction in accidents

Even if moped rental restriction alleviated the situation in Seaville, what worked for Seaville does not necessarily apply to Balmer.

- Maybe Balmer has more cars and more complicated traffic condition, or the roads are not as well-designed