The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above statement claims that by reducing the number of vehicles rented to half, the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians will also be reduced by 50 percent annually. To support the argument, an example of Seaville Island, who also has enforced a similar law, is provided alongside. Even though the proposal sounds attractive, it is based on assumptions and provides no solid evidence. The claim is hence unconvincing and is fallacious.

First of all, the traffic rules and their implementation are one of the most important factors when it comes to road accidents. The judicial authorities of Balmer Island should firstly observe and study the traffic system of the town. There is a fair chance that the traffic rules of the place are not very much effective. Even if the rules are efficient, there is a good chance that the traffic police of the town are not efficient. Drunken driving, signal breaking and over speeding are some of the most infamous reasons of road accidents. So, it is very important to make certain that the traffic system of the Island is efficient and aptly functional. But, the above claim fails to consider this issue and the argument is just based on assumptions.

Secondly, the argument makes a claim that mopeds are the most popular means of transport in the island and by limiting the number of mopeds in tourist season, that is, the summer season, the number of accidents can be limited. However, it is quite possible that many accidents take place in winter season due to poor weather conditions. Also, there is a fair chance that the number of mopeds is already below twenty five. In this case, the new rule will not provide any benefits. So, it would be prudent to study these aspects and provide statistics regarding number of accidents by mopeds in each season and also regarding the number of mopeds rented by tourists.

The argument advocates limiting the number of mopeds. If the amount of mopeds on road is checked, there will be other vehicles used as an alternative. But there is a possibility that this alternative prove to be more risky than mopeds. The argument however fails to consider this aspect. Had there was a suggestion of less risky means of transportation as an alternate of mopeds, the argument would have been more convincing.

Finally, the argument claims that Seaville Island limited the number of road accidents by limiting the number of mopeds and by implementing similar policies in Balmer Island, accidents in this place can also be checked. This statement is again a weak and baseless claim, failing to provide any correlation between the two islands. There is a good chance that the infrastructure of Seaville Island is completely different from that of Balmer’s. There might be more moped users in Seaville than Balmer, hence resulting in this dramatic decrease of accidents by enacting the above mentioned policy. The argument however provides no data about any of the above said aspects and therefore has no strength in its claim.

In conclusion, it can only be said that, the argument is based on mere assumptions and lacks much needed evidences. It therefore requires an elaborate study and investigation to have a more cognizant approach towards the matter, providing a strong bastion to the claim made.