The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. "

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument prompt by the editor of the balmer island gazette, that, To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season.By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.The argument is stated vague.

Firstly, if the town council of balmer island will reduce the mopeds rented by the moped companies, then May be it is the the reason that the street lights are not that good, for that reason the mopeds cannot see properly in the dark, and it cause to accident between pedestrian. Another way, is that, in summer the people will drink more alcohol as compared to other seasons, and it causes more accidents.If the town council limits the rented mopeds, then, the people may rent the cars, then it will increase the accident.

Alternately,the seavilles town council will have less tourist on that year as compared to previous, so the accidents are reduced. Or it may be the reason that the streets lights are placed new as compare to the last year. so it reduce the accidents between the moped and pedestrian.It is also possible that, the weather is not good at the night, so it reduce the mopeds to travel. and eventually it decrease in accidents.May be the mopeds are under repair due to accident caused by the previous year, so, there are less mopeds available for the rent.

In summing the above, the author stated is weak. He as not given the proper population in seavilles.In order to strengthen the argument, the author would need to provide evidence that the vast number of moped accidents on Balmer Island occur during the summer and are in fact caused by an excess number of mopeds on the streets and not other factor.