The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has suggested an approach to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians on Balmer Island by limiting the number of rentals. The author has mentioned that this analogous strategy was adopted by Seaville town council and it helped the to reduce the number of accidents. However, the author has not provided enough information so it is not very convincing to limit the number of rentals for reducing the accidents.

The author has not provided any evidence that the accidents are caused due to increase number of mopeds. It may be possible that the accidents are caused because of lack of management by traffic police or due to lack of coordination of traffic signals. The author should look upon these points and see what the root cause of accidents is. If they are caused by lack of management by traffic police then author should complain to the respective officer and ask them to increase the number of police officials to control the traffic. Accidents can also be avoided by allocating one traffic police at each signal so that he can control the situation immediately if there is any sort of lack of co-ordination in traffic.

Another point suggested by author is that the town council should limit the number of mopeds rented by the rental companies and reduce it to 50 percent. Though it may reduce the number of accidents, but the author has not provided enough information about the negative effects of implementing this strategy. Reducing rentals to 50 percent might cause a huge loss to rental companies and this will affect a lot of people working there. It will affect not just the rental companies but also the people working there and may unfortunately result in unemployment. So, the author should properly check the consequences of limiting the number of rentals because unemployment may cause a severe problem to town.

Author has mentioned that this similar strategy of limiting the rentals was enforced by neighboring island. But there is no evidence that Seaville reduced the number of rentals to limit the number of accidents. It may be possible that the rental companies at Seaville might be facing crises and might not be able to afford more mopeds. This might have made them to reduce the number of rentals and eventually the accidents. So, author should gain additional information about these factors.

Thus, we can see that author has not provided enough information so it is not convincing to limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies. It would have been easier to take decision if the author might have provided enough information about the root cause of accident or the reason for which Seaville reduced the number of rentals in their town.