The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure both lower prices and an adequate supply of milk for consumers."

The author of the letter claims that the price of milk have been increased despite of increase in the number of diary farms. So he intended to regulate the price raise by considering the following reason, Eventhough there is a increase in number of farms by 25% during the period of ten years, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. But the above aforementioned assumption may or may not hold true, when considering the following assumptions. Reports suggest only about the increase in diary farms, it doesn't indicate any details about the number of diary animals used. It is pointing out only to a specific market called Excello Food Market. And the maintenance cost and other factors are not considered for the prices rise.

First, Reports by the agriculture department in Batavia says that there is 25% rise in the diary farms than it was 10 years ago. This is too broad to jump into any conclusion, because it doesnot provide any information about the number of diary animals and the type of animals used for milk porduction. Consider a possibility, What if, same number of animals used as 10 years back, but the maintaining space is increased for each animals due to technological improvement during the period of ten years. So it may need more diary farms.

Further, The prise raise may be only in certain specified market. Whereas the other markets in the Batavia may have a lower retail price for milk. Ten years ago, The diary animals may not maintained well, whereas now, due to technological development in agricultural sectors, the price of maintaining their shelter, cost of healthy foods for the diary animals may increase the retail value. Thus these factoes will results in the rise of the cost of the milk products.

This litany of unsupported assumptions seriously jeopardizes the certainty of the conclusion. Thus the above letter may be factually wrong. And if these assumptions are correct, then the Batavia government maynot take any actions regarding the price rise.