The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is proposing that if skateboarding is prohibited, the business in central plaza will return to its previously high level. However the author failed to render the evidence of this argument, neither the direct relation between increasing skateboarding and decreasing shoppers is made clear. Also, the reason of increased litter and vandalism in plaza is obscured.

There may be different reasons for the decrease in number of shoppers in Central Plaza. It is possible that, some of the shop owners may not be able to meet the competitive demands of the market, which is leading to the decreased shoppers. Inflation can also be a reason for this trend. There is a fair chance that some shop owners might be facing financial challenges and thus not be able to run their business. The other possibility is the buying capacity of the people residing around the central plaza might not be good, which would affect the business there. The author should consider all these possibilities before coming to any conclusion.

Furthermore, the author failed to produce plausible evidence regarding the other statements made. It is indeed evident in the argument that the amount of litter and vandalism is increased throughout the plaza, but the reasons are still abstruse. The author needs to perform a more elaborate study regarding the subject as there may be various reasons. For example, it could be because of the lack of police station or because of the presence of some anti social elements. Likewise, there may be many reasons for the increase in skateboarding. The author needs to perform an investigation and find out if these two activities are actually related. It will not be prudent to come to a conclusion by just making some assumptions.

The argument lacks strength because of the following basic reasons. Firstly, it is because the argument is based on two facts which failed to be proved related. The decline of business and the increase in skateboarding do not seem to be linked. Similarly, the increase in vandalism and in skateboarding activity also does not seem to be related. Secondly, the argument is relying on assumptions only. Without proper evidence, it would not be wise to accuse skateboarding for the plight of central plaza’s shop owners.

In conclusion, it can only be said that the author’s argument is very weak and it needs a lot of investigation and proper statistical and analytical study. No recommendations can be made at this stage and the author needs to provide evidence regarding the relations which are made in this argument. Only with proper analysis and its conclusive reports rendering the relationship between skateboarding and the increased crime in plaza, he can pursue his readers.