The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The central plaza owner's claim that the decrease in shoppers at central plaza is due to popularity of skateboarding, and increase in amount of litter and act of vandalism is also related to skateboarders; need further evidence to substantiate the accusations and further information is required to check the favorableness of recommendation.

First, it is presumed that the decrease in shoppers is due to the increase in number of skateboarders without providing any information or statistics to substantiate the relation, which might be a coincidence and the decrease in popularity of central plaza might occur due to some other reason, which results in decreasing number of customers at central plaza, it might be a case that the parking facility of central plaza is reached at its full capacity and customers has to face inconvenience, and due to that reason shoppers might prefer some other shopping centre providing better parking facility. In order to directly blame the skateboarders for the decreased business, first other changes in the central plaza should be provided like the parking facility stated above.

Second, another accusation is about the increased amount of litter and vandalism caused by the increased number of skateboarders, which is again dubious, because it might be possible that the cleaning staff of central plaza has reduced its employee and due to this reason, the sanitation of central plaza is in turmoil or the location of central plaza, which is in area of miscreant people, may be a cause of increased vandalism. Hence, before relating the increased litter and vandalism to increasing popularity of skateboarding, some other reason responsible for it should be provided which will help to find out the real cause of it.

At last, if the store owners recommendation is accepted, then it might be possible that their profit decrease more drastically, because parents may accompany their kids for skateboarding in central plaza and meanwhile they do shopping from the plaza, if skateboarding is prohibited in central plaza then owners may lose a huge business from the parents of skateboarders.

Therefore, to approve the recommendation of shop owners at central plaza, other cause behind decrease in customers should be provided like parking issue and the location of central plaza should be provided so that another cause of litter and vandalism, if exist, may be worked out.