The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The author in the above argument has made conclusion with that of number of the assumption. The author concludes that prohibiting skateboarding in the central plaza will bring rise in the business without any strong evidence. There many loop with that of the author conclusion. Thus the author makes number of the unproved assumption that hamper a reader's ability to believe the author conclusion. If the author provided more evidence to support the assumptions, than it would have been

much more effective.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the business has been decreased due to the popularity of the skateboarding. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. There could have been many other reason to the degradation of the business. For example, the cheap store might have been setup near the plaza which might be the major reason of the degradation. So to enforce the conclusion, the author should have presented strong evidence.

Moreover, argument readily claims that increase in the litter is due to the skateboarding. There might be different reason due to increase in the litter. For example, the authority in charge for the cleanliness might be irregular. Therefore, this is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between decrease of the business to that of the increase in the litter and vandalism. If the writer has provided more evidence than it would have been more convincing to the reader.

The author further relates that decrease in the business to that of the increase of the vandalism. This assumption made by author without any assumption as the increase in the vandalism might due to the dissatisfaction of the customer to that store in plaza. Thus the author again fails to give strong evidence to satisfy the conclusion.

To wrap up my discussion over this argument, I would like to say the above argument contains many flaws with that of the illogical assumption taken by the writer. There seems no major reason for the evidence. It would have better if writer provides strong evidence for its conclusion.