The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you examine the stated or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A Central Plaza store owner in his letter to the editor recommends that skateboarding should be prohibited as the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing over the past two years.He has presented some plausible facts to bolster his proposal but they have some loopholes and fallacies which need to be addressed before an action is taken.

Firstly he mentioned that while the number of shoppers in Central Plaza were steadily decreasing the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. We have not been provided any statistics about the correlation between the number of shoppers and the popularity of skateboarding. Also, increase in the popularity of skateboarding does not imply increase in the number of skateboarders. Some may love to watch other people skateboarding.

Secondly many store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. This statement is ambiguous. There is no concrete proof that the skateboarders are responsible for the decrease in the footfall in the Plaza.

In addition to this a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism has been witnessed. The shopkeepers fail to realise that increase in the number of shoppers will increase the amount of littering. But this problem can be easily fixed if they employ people to clean the place regularly. Vandalism is a crime and may be a serious issue. However skateboarders may not be responsible for it. There is no given proof of them being involved in vandalism. The police should look into the matter and the people responsible should be punished accordingly.

Lastly, the owner mentions that if skateboarding is prohibited there, they predict that business in Central Plaza will return to it's previously high levels. This statement is again based on the sole reason that skateboarders are responsible. There is no given business model that indicates rise of the sales again after Skateboarding is prohibited.

We do not know in which city or which type of place the Central Plaza mall is. There may have been an attraction nearby two years ago which may have attracted all the people.We do not know what kind of goods are sold there. If they sell long lasting goods like TVs and Washing Machines then the number of shoppers are bound to decrease .There may be other outside factors which we are not aware of.

After analysing all the various angles the facts provided do not seem to justify the prohibition of skateboarding in the Plaza. Although the reasons may be possible more information and data is needed to warrant an action.