The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that consumers should refuse to buy products made with CCC’s copper since the company's mining activity will inevitably result in pollution and pose a threat to the lives of several endangered animal species. The claim seems to be plausible at first glance, but on closer scrutiny, it reveals several logical flaws which are based on precarious assumptions.

To begin with, the argument indicates that the mining work will definitely lead to pollution. However, the argument does not mention any detailed information about the company, such as whether it has some plans to prevent the toxic gases from emitting. Without such information, it is imprudent to make the hasty conclusion that the mining activity will certainly have an impact on the environment. On the contrary, the company may have a comprehensive environmental system to reduce the pollution to the lowest level before emitting to the air or rivers. Therefore, a detailed investigation regarding the company’s environmental measures should be made to bolster the assumption.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the land purchased by CCC is the habitant of the endangered species. However, it is entirely possible that the endangered animals live in areas that are far from the mining locations. If this is the case, even if the mining work causes pollution, the habitant where endangered species live in may not be affected by it due to long distance from the polluted spot. Therefore, unless the argument proves the endangered species live exactly in the land purchased by the company, I will be convinced by the assumption.

Finally, the argument encourages the public to boycott the copper products made by CCC unless they stop mining. However, such an boycotting activity may not achieve desired results, as people could buy other company’s copper products which are also made at the cost of environmental destruction. Moreover, the products sold in local markets may only make up a small proportion of the total sales of the CCC. Therefore, the recommendation which is to refuse to buy copper products made by the CCC makes no difference of the company’s revenues. Without proving that the local market consumes most of the products sold by the company, the recommendation made by the author is unjustified.

In sum, the argument is replete with unreasonable assumptions, for example, the mining work will definitely affect the environment, the land purchased by the company is the habitant of endangered species, etc. To buttress the argument, the author needs to prevent more concrete evidences that the mining working is threatening the lives of the endangered animals and the boycotting activity will stop the company from mining copper.