The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighbouring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the passage editor of local newspaper states that to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees and have to encourage people to recycle more. To support the statement editor gave the example of the neighboring town in which they passed a law required that all households recycle paper and glass ,or pay a nice amount as fine. Since that the town seems to a having decrements in its garbage disposal costs significantly. So the editor also wan to implement same strategy on his hometown to decrease the cost of garbage disposal. In this assertion i state my stand as in total disagreement of it due to lack of information and guidance.

Firstly, To reason with editor's claim on what basis of information the editor is claiming that the cost has gone down in a huge manner? there is just a basic information given that due to making a law the cost has decreased. The argument doesn't provide any information about the in how much amount the cost has decreased to. The claim also states that the by comparing the neighbor town they want to pass a new law. But do they know how much people are following that low? How the system works their? What facilities are provided to the houses? They all remains unanswered.

Secondly, let's agree to the claim that the cost decrease for the moment. However this derived information comes from the survey done last year. There might be possibility that the number of people wasn't sufficient to create a general assumption. Here editor's whole claim is based on this survey made what if this survey was done in a single part of town with lesser population compare to the other parts? What if the survey was done only in a part which follows this low? The whole thing makes it bemusing.

Third, Here it's good that a person is trying to encourage the people to recycle and reduction in costs at the some time. Which is praise worthy but on the basis the thing is applied seems shaky to me. To support the passage editor doesn't seem to be answering the queries i got. The survey , cost of before and after implying, on how many people they are going to apply this law and a lot more queries. If the information is provided enough i could've agreed to the terms and conditions i have to follow to reduce cost and save environment at the same time.

In sum, due to lesser information and guidance i clear my stand as disagreement towards to editor's letter and I adhere to it till the end. The proposal is good but information is not given enough to make a law out of it. Also the reason mentioned above explains the flaws in the editor’s letter. Even though the idea is good but the approach doesn’t seem music to my ears.