The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument asserts that in order to decrease rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the downtown and the rural areas, a bicycle lane must be added. While the suggestion may sound plausible, the argument relies on false parallels and unproven assumptions and, also, omits certain relevant information.

First of all, the author assumes that the untoward experience of adding a line to the nearby Green Highway may be applicable to the Blue Highway as well. As it stated in the passage, widening of Green Highway only led to increased traffic. However, the author fails to consider other possible explanations. There may have been an influx of suburbs' citizens which led to the worsening of traffic jams even with the additional line, or the overall quality of the road has led to slow traffic on the highway. With that in mind, the author can not base his argument on this particular example without elaborating on the reasons why Green Highway initiative didn't work.

Second, the author states that better solution to the rush-hour traffic problem would be to add a bicycle line to Blue Highway. Indeed, as it mentioned in the newsletter, many residents are fond of bicycling and ,hence, they could be considered as a potential users of the added line. Yet, the author never mentions the distance between the suburbs and the city center. It could take people more than two hours to get to the downtown riding a bicycle. It's easy to imagine that in this case not many citizens would be interested in using bicycles to commute.

Finally, the author suggestion can lead to worsening the situation instead of helping it. If the useless bicycle line is added, there will be less space for the car lines which can lead to increased traffic. Moreover, using this line might even be dangerous, if the highway road in bad state. Simple suggestions, like adding a carpool line could encourage people to carpool together and can lead to decrease in traffic.

To conclude, the argument doesn't seem cogent at all. The newsletter lacks important information like the quality of the roads and the author makes only a tenuous link between the facts and his suggestion. Additionally, more simple and basic ideas may lead to better results.